Being Proactive: It’s Hard. But worth it.

0_6k_wQU0bhZKFiZ5K.jpg

Job searching is something almost every single one of us has had to deal with at some point in our lives. I personally am just starting and I am honestly terrified. When I tell someone I am scared or I feel like I’m not smart enough, they turn to me and all typically say the same thing, “We all are.” This, even though I’ve heard it many times, seems like a lie right? WRONG though. Almost every single person goes into their jobs thinking they don’t know anything and that they’re going to be 100% on their own right away. We tend to forget that you receive training, people are always around to answer questions, and no one expects you (at entry level) to know exactly what is needed for the position. EVERYONE BULLSHITS THEIR WAY THROUGH AND EVERYTHING WORKS OUT. Usually. haha.

solidorganicfoxterrier-size_restricted

I know that I want to be in Denver. I know that. I’ve saved tons of job postings, allowed them to expire, saved some more, and so on. I had an epiphany last night, which honestly should have come sooner, that I need to be P R O A C T I V E if I want to get anywhere with this job search.

In class today, one of the coolest teachers we have here at U of I, Shachar Meron did a presentation on job searches. We are all seniors in this class (our capstone advertising class) and he mentioned how being proactive, contacting a company separate from just the posted job shows that you are more interested than certain other candidates. He also mentioned that contacting companies/agencies before they even post an open job also gets you one step ahead of other applicants which can work wonders for you.

I am now still nervous, but also more excited because I realize everyone who is already in the working world has been in my position before, they’ve been scared, they’ve learned how to be productive and have made it to where they are today. I CAN DO THAT. I just have to be proactive.

I sound like a broken record and I’m sorry, but that is the whole point of this post.

You also should be productive in MANY OTHER PARTS of your life. If you’re feeling like you’re getting sick, BE PROACTIVE. Take your vitamins, take medicine, work through it and don’t sulk in your sickness and act like your whole week is thrown off because you aren’t doing SHIT about getting sick. RIGHT? Okay.

giphy.gif

You feeling lethargic and like you’ve gained some weight? DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. I am in this boat right now. Reach out to people you know who live healthy energetic lifestyles. Look up healthier versions of meals you love. Look up workout routines, training routines, yoga, etc. I have been running a lot more now and guess what? I’M FEELING MUCH BETTER!!!!!!

I know it’s so hard and a lot of us love being lazy, love getting things the easy way, love procrastinating… But we really need to be better. Not only will we feel better, we will most likely be way less stressed out, be more excited and less worried.

Being proactive is one of the most important ways to alleviate issues or problems before they even occur. It’s so easy to not be productive, but it is so much better for you and the people around you to be the best you can be and be ahead of the game.

th.jpeg

None of this is backed by science, but it is definitely backed by people all over the world through their experience. If I watched what I ate earlier and kept up with my workouts, I wouldn’t be worried about my weight and health. If I contacted a company before applying and got my name known, I would be more likely to get a follow-up/response. THAT IS HOW IT WORKS.

Be proactive and love yourself because it will truly make a difference. I love you all, HAPPY MONDAY. xoxo.

-KH

Leave a comment