Meal Prep: Why I don’t do it.

As you may know, I’ve talked about how I’ve been working out more, and I actually signed up for the Illinois Half Marathon in April. I am trying to not only train for this half, but really get into a healthy lifestyle. I feel like after a race I like to just stop running/working out and then I fall completely off track. I am now trying to make this more of a lifestyle change than simply a training period.

healthy-living-quotes-30.jpg

One thing a lot of people recommend is meal prepping. Meal prepping saves you some time and money and makes sure you have a health meal each day. Sounds like a smart idea right? I thought the same. So I tried it. But, it didn’t work for me.

I am not saying that it simply doesn’t work, I am just saying that it didn’t work for me and here is why:

  1. I don’t like eating the same thing every day. I am a huge foodie and having the same meal multiple days in a row just isn’t my thing. I find that even when I save leftovers, I rarely eat them unless its the same night. I personally just get bored of the same flavors so that is reason number 1. giphy.gif
  2. It will most likely go to waste. I meal prepped for a week and I threw away over half of the contents in the Tupperware each time because I didn’t eat it. Therefore it didn’t actually save me money, and I felt super wasteful. I hate throwing extras away so I really found it more of a negative thing than a positive thing in my life. which-regions-waste-the-most-food_1024-1024x729.png
  3. I don’t want to spend 3+ hours to make these meals. If I meal prepped breakfast, lunch and dinner, It would most likely take me a few hours to make all three meals and not to mention, in abundance. I really love cooking but this is just an ungodly amount of time in the kitchen just for 5 helpings of the same effing meal… tenor.gif

Meal prepping is not bad! I just personally found it to be pretty impossible for me to maintain. I don’t like eating the same meals, I feel like I waste half of the food I make and I just don’t want to spend the time on it if I know it’s not going to be something I want later in the week.

If you agree with any of those three reasons I don’t think that meal prepping is for you. Some things you can do instead is meal plan. Meal planning is where you think about what meals you ay want during the week and only buy those ingredients at the store each week. This way you grocery shop once a week instead of trying to get so much stuff to last you a month, and you have the ingredients for a healthy and delicious meal week!!

Benefits-of-Meal-Planning.jpg

I used to go grocery shopping like once a month and spend like $130 on a lot of shit I just threw away. It was dumb and once I learned that going once a week would save food and money, I was sold. So personally I love meal planning, not so much meal prepping. So if you are like me, I recommend that.

Cheers to 2019 and getting healthier. I have run 43 miles in January and have many more to go! Join us in the half marathon if you want! Here is the link! xoxo.

-KH

Leave a comment